Chartered IT Professional

The Chartered IT Professional Course by British Computer Society (BCS) is the only Chartered Information Technology (IT) Course in the world designed first to reward IT professionals and those with worth of work experience in the IT field and secondly for continuing academic student who want to be The Chartered Institute for IT. This is the highest peak of IT Certification in the world.

There are three levels of examination:

Certificate in IT

Required Modules:

  • Information Systems
  • Software Development
  • Computer & Network Technology

Equivalent to year one UK honors 1st Degree.
Legible to apply for Associate Member of BCS AMBCS after completion.

Diploma in IT

Required Modules:

  • Professional Issues in Information Systems Practice (core)
  • Choose THREE of the following flexible modules:
  • Database Systems
  • Software Engineering 1
  • Computer Networks
  • IT service Management
  • IT Project Management

Equivalent to year Two UK honors 1st Degree.
Legible to apply for Member of BCS MBCS after completion.
Can apply for a Degree.

Professional Graduate Diploma (PGD) in IT

Required Modules:

    Choose FOUR of the following flexible modules:
  • Advanced Database Management Systems
  • Software Engineering 2
  • Network Information Systems
  • Computer Services Management
  • Management Information Systems

Equivalent to Bsc. UK honors First Degree.
Legible to apply for a Chartered Status CITP after completion.

The PGD in IT is equivalent to the academic level of a UK university honors degree and also lead to a Chartered status in IT. This course also provides a route to postgraduate study at selected UK Universities.

All three qualifications are accredited by Ofqual - Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator.

Ofqual is one of the UK regulatory authorities and provides a recognized standard in quality. With Ofqual accreditation, the BCS Higher Education Qualifications can be positioned on the NQF - National Qualification Framework - which can be compared against other qualifications i.e. a UK honors degree.

These qualifications are also recognized by the British Council and by many UK universities as a route to postgraduate study.

This course has been developed in consultation with large companies in the IT sector such as, the Ministry of Defense, Royal Mail, Vodafone, Halifax, Royal Sun Alliance and Barclays.

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, promotes wider social and economic progress through the advancement of information technology science and practice. Chartered Institute for IT (BCS) is the industry body for IT professionals.

Professional Examinations are the essential qualification for a career in computing and information technology (IT).

BCS Professional Examinations are relevant to employers and offer an alternative route to an honors degree level qualification.

The BCS Professional Graduate Diploma course, has been reviewed and Accredited by the Ghana National Accreditation Board (NAB). « Click to download presentation »

Course Duration

• 3 years, 1 year per course


About BCS Frequently Asked Questions Want to study our qualifications? Request a prospectus Syllabus and exemptions Timetables Past Papers and examination reports Admission requirements Tuition Fee Examination Centre: The British Council, Accra

Register Online Now

Student are required to apply to the Administration through their lecturer; for the creation of their username and password to access the school's intranet to be informed on all issues related to the Institute and their various courses.

For any enquiries, please send and e-mail to:
or call: +233 302 256465, +233 266 147 725